About Freeport Housing Authority

The FHA’s mission is to provide decent, safe, and sanitary housing for low income persons residing in the Incorporated Village of Freeport, New York.

The Freeport Housing Authority (“FHA”) is a public benefit corporation established pursuant to New York State law, and administers Federal housing programs for low income families.  The FHA receives funding primarily from the U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD), and is entitled to apply for funding to acquire, construct, modernize, maintain, and manage housing developments. The FHA administers and manages two (2) housing programs including Public Housing developments and the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program. These programs help approximately 1,500 residents in the Village of Freeport.

The FHA is governed by a seven (7) member Board of Commissioners.

The Freeport Housing Authority is located at 240 South Main Street (at Raynor Street) in Freeport, NY 11520. (516) 623-2508.

Board of Commissioners:

Dr. Joseph Cattano, Chairman Steven Patrick, Vice Chairman Jacques V. Butler                    Valeria A. Jackson
David E. Jones
Phillip Mataragas
Iris Peralta


Executive Director
John Hrvatin

Public Housing & Section 8 (Housing Choice Voucher Program) Coordinator:
Robyn Smith Kaiser

Office Staff:
Yvette Jackson

Kim Bruno